Bama Rising Fund announces $350,000 in grants to help with unmet tornado recovery needs

The Advisory Committee for the Bama Rising Fund of the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham is awarding $350,000 to repair, rebuild and furnish homes in devastated communities. This is the second round of grants from this Advised Fund, established with more than $2 million in proceeds from a June 2011 benefit concert organized and headlined by the band ALABAMA.

Grants are coordinated with Long-Term Recovery Committees (LTRCs) established across Alabama, using a case management system to meet long-term needs across Alabama. Current grant awards include:

HERO (Hale Empowerment and Revitalization Organization), $75,000 to support construction of volunteer-built homes in Hale, Marengo, and Sumter counties.

Walker Area Community Foundation, $75,000 to provide roofing materials to support volunteer teams repairing homes in Walker County.

Upper Sand Mountain Parish (for the Jackson/DeKalb LTRC), $60,000 to help in completing construction on homes destroyed or damaged by the tornadoes, with labor done by volunteers.

United Way of Marshall County, on behalf of the Marshall County Long-Term Recovery Committee (LTRC), $65,000 to rebuild and provide furniture and appliances for homes damaged or destroyed by the tornadoes.

Greater Birmingham Habitat for Humanity, $75,000 for home repairs and rebuilding and support of low-income individuals and families in Jefferson County in their transition to home ownership.

Background:The Bama Rising Fund was established as an Advised Fund of the Community Foundation of Greater Birmingham. Grants are made through an Advisory Committee which includes representatives of the band ALABAMA, concert promoters and the Community Foundation. The Bama Rising benefit concert, organized by the band ALABAMA and held on June 14, 2011, raised $2.1 million for the Fund through ticket sales and the donation of in-kind services, talent and dollars by promoters, artists and sponsors. Grants totaling $250,000 were awarded in July 2011.